Halloween Costumes

I thought I would start by showing a few examples of what I have created in the past. For Halloween last year my friend decided to host a Pokemon themed party. He is a hardcore fan and I knew I had to be on top form with my costume. My boyfriend and I decided hand-made costumes were the way to go as I hate the tacky polyester shop bought costumes, and how expensive they are when I know I could probably make something just as good for half the price.

After much deliberation and frustrating google searches we finally decided to go as Jigglypuff and Squirtle (the cute ones!)

ImageImage

My cats always think it’s a great idea to try and help me at the most inopportune moments! I managed to find some great baby blue fleece and pink faux fur from the local market stall, and after many minutes of fighting to retrieve my material from furry paws I began to cut out my pattern pieces. I didn’t take step-by-step photos for my costume, as Jigglypuff is just a big ball with a face. I also kept forgetting to take photos during the “Squirtle process” but I managed a few!

Image

 

This costume was actually surprisingly easy to make – the most time consuming part was cutting out the pattern pieces!

Image

 

After sewing the “onesie” torso I added a layer of yellow to create the shell.

Image

 

…and then added a zip. I also sewed in a hood, gloves and cuffs, and created a padded shell that attached as a backpack. The final products:

Image 

ImageImageImage

 

Excuse the messy rooms/ bad photos – (and drunken looks!) the costumes became very last minute, I am known to be quite bad for time keeping! The hat was also a bad choice on my part as the fluff was (funnily enough) extremely painful when it shed into my eyes!

Hope this inspires you for next Halloween 🙂

Bear 

 

Leave a comment